Vogue Paris brings back “Grunge” for their September 2013 Issue

Sporting her new, edgy hairstyle, Saskia de Brauw channels grunge on the cover of Vogue Paris September 2013 shot by, no other than, Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott.

Image

When I first saw this, I thought “Grunge? Is that it?”. I applaud Emmanuelle Alt for taking the risk of bringing it back because back in the day, during the early 90s where grunge was really huge, some editors of major fashion magazines, including Anna Wintour of US Vogue, despised it. Although if you may remember,  there was an editorial from the December 1992 issue of US Vogue that featured the iconic grunge fashion editorial shot by Steven Meisel with supermodels Kristen McMenamy, Nadja Auermann, Naomi Campbell and some male models. If I were to choose between this and the classic one by Meisel, I would definitely pick the latter one cause it screams grunge more than this one.

This looks more androgyny than grunge. It’s like they forced this one to imbibe the grunge feeling. And the cover shot reminds me of those classic CK One ads from the 90s by Meisel as well. Just saying.

 

Xoxo, Judd

1 comment

Leave a comment